IP Hall of Fame
Part of The IP Media Group

IP Hall of Fame Academy members

The IP Hall of Fame Academy comprises previous, living inductees into the IP Hall of Fame, the panellists from the 2006 IP Hall of Fame induction process and individuals who have been put forward for membership as a consequence of their acknowledged expertise in international intellectual property issues. Moving forward, people will qualify for Academy membership only if they are inducted into the IP Hall of Fame or if their names are submitted for consideration by an existing member.

The role of Academy members is to select IP Hall of Fame inductees from the nominations made by the global IP community.

Current members are (click on name for more information):

Anne Gundelfinger
Paul Michel
Miles Alexander
Francis Gurry
Gerald Mossinghoff
Hisamitsu Arai
Dolores Hanna
Alexander von Mühlendahl
Robert Armitage
Ian Harvey
Ronald Myrick
Heinz Bardehle
Bowman Heiden
Pauline Newman
Allen Baum
Robin Jacob
Shinjiro Ono
Birch Bayh
Stephen James
Jochen Pagenberg
Lynne Beresford
Karl Jorda
Ruud Peters
Daniel Bereskin
David Kappos
Marybeth Peters
Bruce Berman
Michael Kirk
Marshall Phelps
Donald Chisum
Malte Köllner
Jeremy Phillips
Peter Chrocziel
Klaus-Dieter Langfinger
Randall Rader
Dennis Crouch
Bruce Lehman
Niels Reimers
Béatrix de Russé
Mark Lemley
Kevin Rivette
Q Todd Dickinson
Tian Lipu
Peter Dirk Siemsen
Alan Drewsen
James Malackowski
James Sobieraj
Donald Dunner
Damon Matteo
Joseph Straus
Melvin Garner
J Thomas McCarthy
Thierry Sueur
Jerome Gilson
Dan McCurdy
David Tatham
Jane Ginsburg
Ciarán McGinley
Herbert Wamsley
Heinz Goddar
Peter Meier-Beck
Gary Griswold
Chris Mercer


Bruce Lehman

Former commissioner of the USPTO and chair of the International Intellectual Property Institute
IP Hall of Fame inductee in 2006

The longest-sitting and first activist commissioner of the US Patent and Trademark Office, Lehman was an architect of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act and helped to negotiate the TRIPS agreement. He met monthly at the White House with President Clinton and his technology advisers, and won an award from Vice President Gore for streamlining USPTO operations. He founded the International Intellectual Property Institute in 1999, a think-tank and development organisation that has helped nations to understand, develop and harmonise their patent laws and facilitate commerce. The National Law Journal named him lawyer of the year in 1994, and in 1997 public-policy magazine National Journal named him as one of the 100 most influential people in Washington.