IP Hall of Fame

The IP Hall of Fame was developed by IAM to honour the achievements of men and women who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of today’s IP system and its role as an enhancer of lives across the world. Inductees are chosen each year by the IP Hall of Fame Academy from nominations sent in by members of the global IP community.

The three individuals who have been selected by the IP Hall of Fame Academy as 2016’s inductees into the IP Hall of Fame are:

Margot Fröhlinger: Principal director of patent law and multilateral affairs at the European Patent Office, instrumental in the creation of Europe’s unitary patent and the Unified Patent Court system.

Lulin Gao:  Considered by many as one of the principal architects of China's IP system, Dr Gao held the longest term as patent commissioner and is one of the founders of the modern patent system in China.

James Pooley: Former Deputy Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization, and a leading scholar and practitioner of trade secret law in the United States.

The inductees will be honoured at a ceremony taking place during this year’s IPBC Global in Barcelona in June.